The Happiness Project

Read the Happiness Project!

Goal: Read The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin. Achieved! October 29th, 2012.

I love this book. Since beginning my 26 x 26 goals last year, I have been on the look out for inspiration. My housemate and co-worker, Angie, share and review our goals and resolutions together, which has been a major source of motivation. I like talking about my goals and hearing about what others would like to accomplish in their life times. However, I have found it difficult to find formats that get me out of my typical way of thinking. As in – discovering new ideas that I never would have thought of or even just something that I have wanted to add to my list.

I love The Happiness Project because it’s straight-forward. It breaks down a year into 12 sections, each month gets a theme and each theme has a number of resolutions attached to it. This is a GREAT format. I recently read an article (no link! bummer) about how powerful a 30 day challenge can be because it has the ability to change your habits. Rubin talks about research that suggests that habits can be changed in 21 days, so adding another week solidifies habit changes. Anyway, not only does Rubin have a great format, but she has interesting resolutions that can easily be tailored and modified to individuals. I have recently started printing out resolution charts for my own project. Definitely inspiring.

I am so HAPPY and proud to have finished reading this book. I’m celebrating this small victory!

Leave a Reply

